I am Jen, Jen I am

my journey towards happy and healthy healing…inside and out!

#junetuneup check-in 1

  A few days ago I posted about my newest challenge. I joined the Shrinking Jeans for their June challenge.

For this challenge I decided to go #wheatfree.  I chose to go #wheatfree after doing some research and realizing wheat may be an issue for me and for my husband. I have random belly issues and my husband has some IBS gastro issues. The doctor really has never given my husband guidance on what he should and should not eat. We have been slowly trying to make healthier food choices but we haven’t been making a lot of progress.

June seemed like the perfect month for a #wheatfree experiment. Luckily for me, the husband jumped on board.  We make one hell of  a team so having him on board with me is AWESOMESAUCE to the 1000th degree.

So, I weighed in at home (for those who know, I usually just weigh at my Weight Watchers meetings on Saturdays) on Friday, June 1st for my “starting weight” and was 228.4lbs. OUCH. I really haven’t lost any weight since January. But its been a learning journey and I am determined to make some progress. So, I won’t and haven’t dwelled on that number.

Today is Wednesday and for the Shrinking Jeans Shrinkers that means Weigh in Wednesdays.  Today I weighed in at 223.6 for a 4.8lb loss.

HOLYMOLYHOLYMOLY!!!

This #wheatfree things must be working.

HA!

It’s not simply the #wheatfree thing. But choosing to be #wheatfree has made it so I am more conscious about my food choices.  I really am thinking about everything I am eating – I am not just grabbing the convenient stuff and I am not eating out of boredom. I know it has only been a 6 days but I feel change happening.

I have been SICK for days.

But I have not used that as an excuse. I have made good food choices and stayed #wheatfree even though I really, really, REALLY, wanted to order pizza.

 

Not a bad start!

And now we are on to tomorrow and the day after that and the day after that.

One day at a time.

How did you do this week?

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “#junetuneup check-in 1

  1. Good job Jen! My hsuband is gluten intolerant and it’s amazing what eating more fresh veggies and no wheat does for your weight loss!

  2. WOOO-HOOO!!

  3. You are AWESOME!! So glad you and the hubby are doing this together. Makes it so much easier! We are gonna rock June!!

  4. AWESOME!! I’m so excited that you’re having such good successes going wheat free. Another one of our sisters has been wheat free for about 6 weeks and is doing great. It’s Debra, here’s her blog! http://finallygettingfit.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/tune-up-check-in-week-2/

    Anyway, good luck to you and your husband!!! Sounds like you’re off to a great start!

  5. This is so fantastic to read! Especially this: “It’s not simply the #wheatfree thing. But choosing to be #wheatfree has made it so I am more conscious about my food choices.” Consciousness is where it’s at 🙂

  6. I’m so proud of you! Great job this week!

  7. Yea for #wheatfree! I haven’t had wheat since 2005 and it is a true lifesaver. Good for you!

what's on your mind....

