I am Jen, Jen I am

my journey towards happy and healthy healing…inside and out!

a new day

IMG01419-20120128-2030

Today I joined Weight Watchers.

Again.

Yep, this is my second go with Weight Watchers, but this will be the last time I mention it.

Today is a new start, a fresh start, another day one!

I cannot change the past, so as far I am not going to dwell on it.

I will not think about the weight I have gained back.

Today’s starting weight is my NOW starting weight.

I do not want to dwell on what has happened in the past – losses, gains, losses, gains, etc. I only want to dwell on the now and the future.

But still I chose to join Weight Watchers. My mom started back to WW a few weeks ago and she asked me to go with her. How could I say no?!? She is paying, there is a Saturday morning meeting, and meeting is located right next to my favorite produce place. I agreed to go to WW. I was a bit excited/nervous this morning going into my first meeting. I will admit, I wasn’t exactly looking forward to stepping on the scale. I think part of the nervous part was due to the timing of the meeting – you see, when I was at WW before this was the same meeting with the same leader and several of the same members. Gaining back so much of my lost weight had me nervous. I was going to see people who had seen me lose so much. I was worried about what they would think…

I walked in and the first person I saw was a lady I used to work with about 6 years ago. Sharon had lost 68 pounds in 2010 and was now a receptionist. Sharon hugged me and I felt better. Then I walked into hugs by several members I was friendly with before. I went past the leader and she didn’t see me…I thought maybe she had forgotten me…silly me! Stephanie, the leader, noticed me sitting in the back and came right over, hugged me and said, “welcome home.”

Welcome Home.

I was so at ease.

I wanted to soak up every minute.

The meeting was about Power Foods. Basically, the more filling of the food choices. I found it odd that low calorie bread is a power food but regular bread is not. Most fruits and vegetables and lean proteins seem to be Power Foods, which seems to be the foods that should keep you more filled and satisfied. I also stayed at the end for a bit of a refresher course on points and healthy guidelines.

Stephanie left us with this:

“Its Choice

-not chance-

that determines your destiny”

I think lately, I have been leaving too much to chance. Just letting things happen as they happen. I made a choice today. Why would I go back to Weight Watchers if I have no intention of making the proper choices for me?!? I chose to go back to WW.

So, here is to a week of focusing on my choices.

Today is a new day!

*yep, I went there with a cheesy reference to one of the Jennifer Hudson WW commercial!

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “a new day

  1. Yay! So glad they welcomed you back and it’s very cool that you and your mom are in this together! Can’t wait to watch your progress!

  2. I’m proud of you. I really am, Jen! You are going to do awesome.

  3. Big step today. Tough step today. Good for you! Woo hoo! Go, Jen!

  4. Accountability is a good thing. So excited for you and your fresh start.

  5. Congrats on taking control of things and starting fresh. I can’t wait to see you conquer, and I KNOW you will!

  6. I’m so glad it feels like home…warm and nurturing. That’s what makes ALL the difference!

  7. *high five*

    Even if it feels hard to go back, it feels right when we can feel like we belong. It’s hard to not look back at what was when we’re trying to get back to that point. Keep looking forward Jen. It’s the only way to go…

  8. I’m sure that most people there was just as scared as you were, they are a 2nd family and will treat you like family. It’s a new chapter in this journey with health….I’m with you

  9. WELCOME HOME. You know I am always here for you. oxoxo

what's on your mind....

