I am Jen, Jen I am

my journey towards happy and healthy healing…inside and out!

christmas spirit, I have it!

IMG01315-20111218-2304

It has been 33 days since my surgery and I still have 9 days with my leg/foot in a cast.

It has been warm in South Jersey.

I am broke.

I know Christmas is not about how much money you spend. AND I refuse to go into debt for Christmas. I will give my daughter an enjoyable day but I will not use credit cards to make it some ridiculous extravaganza.  I am focusing on the family aspect of the holiday. I love spending the day with my family. I open my home to everyone in my life to stop at my house for Christmas cheer and plenty of food. This year we will not be buying gifts for everyone we know. In fact, we only bought gifts for the kids in our lives: Q, two nieces and a nephew. We have been making some homemade goodies to give out to friends and family – we LOVE sharing our goodies and I think this is a way better gift!

I have not been feeling too much love for Christmas.

I have not been all bah-humbug, I love Christmas but I haven’t been feelin’ it. Part of that is weather, part is crutches, part is broke-ness, and part is simply the “holy-crap-is-it-really-december feeling…but I am warming up to it.

The last 4-5 days have jumped me into Christmas Spirit.

We put up our awesome glowing red tree on Wednesday.

On Thursday we had company from out of town.

Friday we decorated the tree. We decided not to put out all our decorations this year. We have a small house and with me on crutches we decided to go minimal. I am so happy we did! I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to look to my left as I type this and see my pretty tree!  I peeled, cored, and diced up 8 pounds of apples and put them and other ingredients into the crockpot. I let the crokpot work its crockpot magic while I slept and then on Saturday I turned the crockpot goodness into apple butter. {I can’t wait to give this out, it is seriously delicious!!!}

IMG01313-20111218-1412

 

Today my little sister came over! We made all the cookie dough for her to make her cookies (she is actually baking  them with her husband but since they both work retail they will bake around their schedules) this week. We also made my cookies and breads and other homemade goodies. This year money is a bit tight so I decided to go the homemade way and I am so glad I did!! I had a great time with my little sister and my daughter making cookies and memories. There is just no way you can be in a kitchen and not talk about everything (and I mean everything)!

We had such a good day! I have a feeling that a whole lot of love was added to the yummies that were produced in my kitchen today! I feel the love and Christmas spirit and energy just surging through me!

We were very productive today!

We baked 2 batches of cookies, prepared the dough for 5 more batches, baked 8 loaves of banana bread.  I still have much to make & bake: pumpkin bread for everyone and I am making AJ onion relish & somoa bark – homemade yummies that only he would like!!

I move slower and get tired quicker but I can still get things done! I need more help than usual but Q is getting older and she wants to help me! I love that we are spending so much time together preparing for Christmas. I feel like I am really showing her the sprit of this holiday season.

I may not have a lot of money but I have a lot of spirit and love!!

I had such a great weekend getting ready for Christmas.

But now, I.AM.TIRED! I am going to bed where I can let visions of sugar fairies dance in my head.

I leave you with one more picture of my BRIGHT red tree! and if you look closely at the couch on the right you will see a sleeping Lucy!!

IMG01314-20111218-2303

Do you have the Christmas spirit?!?

*pardon the crappy BlackBerry pictures!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “christmas spirit, I have it!

  1. gatekepa on said:

    I’m not really feeling Christmas right now. I suppose it’s the lack of sleep that’s doing it, as well as being broke (fully broke). Oh the joys of having a puppy 😀

    But your mood is infectious 🙂 I really want to bake some things to give away to people now.

  2. Baking. Family. A lot of love surrounding you. And NOT doing the credit card thing. Jen, it sounds like you’re having a happy Christmastime to me! xo

  3. Love your tree! Love that this year you are letting Christmas be about the joy of the season not the amount of gifts or money spent! Homemade gifts rock!

  4. I love your garland! I am so over getting “stuff” for Christmas. I’d be so happy if friends gave me apple butter or homemade cookies (even though I make tons myself) or homemade bread. It’s so much more meaningful.

what's on your mind....

